Chairs and RTA Steering Committee

The RTA chair, the nine focus area chairs and vice chairs, and other RTA Steering Committee members comprise the senior volunteer leadership of the Regional Transportation Alliance.  These business leaders are committed to the execution of the RTA Action Plan and to improving the future mobility of the region.


RTA 2015 chair
Ed Paradise, Cisco Systems

RTA chair-elect
Steve Brechbiel, Quintiles

RTA immediate past chair
Clymer Cease, Clark Nexsen


2015-16 RTA Chairs council

Communications and Engagement
Kerry Grace Heckle, Rex Healthcare - chair
Carmen Prevette, Duke Energy - vice chair 

Events and Sponsorships
Kathleen Bentley, Fidelity Investments – chair 
Mary Heath, Stewart - vice chair

Membership Development
Robert Doreauk, AT&T - chair

Legislative and Policy 
Mike McBrierty, Biogen - chair
Maeve Gardner, GlaxoSmithKline - vice chair


Freeways, Express Lanes, and Interchanges
Pete Marino, Smith Anderson – chair

Streets and Intersections
Sam Nichols, First Citizens Bank – chair


Regional Transit 
Eric Braun, Golden Corral – chair

Valerie Jordan, Cisco Systems - vice chair

Intercity Higher Speed Rail
Randy Lickey, Williams Mullen - chair 
Dave Byerley, Branch Banking and Trust Company - vice chair

RDU Air Service
Bruce Sargent, IBM Corporation -  chair

Michael Schoenfeld, Duke University - vice chair



RTA Steering Committee members:

Cisco Systems
Ed Paradise
, Christina O'Neill

Duke Energy
Marty Clayton, Carmen Prevette

Fairway Outdoor Advertising
Aaron Guyton
, Paul Hickman

Forge Communications
Roger Friedensen
, Ray Hornak

Fred Smith Company
Jule Smith

Maeve Gardner

Golden Corral
Eric Braun

Geoff Lang

Research Triangle Foundation of North Carolina
Bob Geolas, Mason Ailstock

Wake County Economic Development / EDGE 5
Adrienne Cole

Cary Chamber of Commerce
Howard Johnson
, Kyle Greer, 

Chapel Hill Carrboro Chamber of Commerce
Aaron Nelson
, Kristen Smith

Greater Durham Chamber of Commerce
Casey Steinbacher
, John White

Greater Raleigh Chamber of Commerce
Tim Giuliani, Emily Atkinson


RTA Chairs History

2013 – present:  Ed Paradise, Cisco Systems 
2011 – 13 - Clymer Cease, Clark Nexsen
2011          - Jim Captain, Credit Suisse
2009 – 11 - Rick Weddle, The Research Triangle Park
2008 – 09 - Jim Captain, Credit Suisse
2007 – 08 - Rusine Mitchell-Sinclair
2006 – 07 - Ed Willingham, First Citizens Bank
2005 – 06 - Joe Freddoso, Cisco Systems
2004 – 05 - Peter Anlyan, Capitol Broadcasting Company
2003 – 05 - Duane Long, Longistics
2003 – 04 - Bill Shore, GlaxoSmithKline
1999 – 2003 - Smedes York, York Properties
1999 – 2003 - Bob Ingram, GlaxoSmithKline

Join the Alliance

Click below to join your fellow business leaders who are making a positive difference in our region's mobility and quality of life.

Gold Members

Cisco Duke Energy EDGE Fairway Forge Communications Fred Smith Company Golden Corral Corporation Greater Raleigh Chamber of Commerce GSK MetLife Quintiles Transnational Corporation RTP